WEmail for Wednesday December 7th 2016

Good Day to you All,

graciela-fernado-in-dance-poseThe only thing wrong with PARADISO’s “Black and White Big Party Milonga” last Friday was the fact that I ran out of energy and was unable to dance with all of the ladies that I desired to dance with. Other than that, it was a wonderful evening with a great mixture of people from our Tango community. I enjoyed meeting Graciela again who introduced her dance partner Leonardo to me. Yesim’s music mixture was also very enjoyable.

Many thanks to Patricia, Regina and Mark; let’s hope that the January 6th 2017 milonga (which we plan on attending) has the same vibes.

 

We also had a very enjoyable evening at Tango Loft on Saturday but I did not drink my entire glass of wine; not because I was not enjoying it but because I did not want to take a chance of being stopped and checked. A single glass of wine should not impair me in any way especially as I had also consumed some food over the evening but I just did not think it was worth the chance. Needless to say, we did not see any Police checks on the way home.

On Sunday we decided to visit an afternoon tea dance where a one, (1) hour Cha-Cha lesson was included at no extra charge. It’s over fifty years ago since I danced Cha-Cha on a regular basis so I felt a refresher course might be in order especially as we plan on visiting regular Ballroom dances a few times a month. I found the instructor, Konstantin Antonov to be first class both at demonstrating the steps as well as describing the footwork positions as well as weight transfer information. The problem that I had was with my memory of the steps he showed us as well as the sequences as my old actions of when I was a member of a cha-cha demo group so many years ago seemed to over- rule some of what we were trying to do. There will be another two, (2) Cha-Cha lessons taught before year end which we will attend.

Starting in January, there will be a different types of ballroom/Latin dances taught every Sunday for a month so hopefully I will be able to re-engage my brain for some of the other dances as well which will enable Pam and I to dance more frequently when we go to a ballroom/Latin dance rather than sitting out.

NO, we are NOT abandoning Argentine Tango we just want an alternative for the weekends when some of them are not operating for whatever reason.

Pam and I were at Swansea Town Hall last week confirming the fact that starting Wednesday January 11th 2017 WE Tango will be operating every Wednesday in 2017.

Whilst we were at Swansea Town Hall we observed the following notice…

2016-christmas-clothing-drive-web-poster-letter-size

Pam and I think that this is a great idea and to encourage you to bring donations to this worthy cause we are prepared to charge only five dollars, ($5.00) admittance to WE Tango this coming Wednesday to those of you who bring one of the requested items. Christmas is truly the time of giving, especially to those who are less fortunate.

WE TANGO is scheduled to operate this coming Wednesday evening

December 7th 2016

WE Tango takes place in the Council Chambers, 2nd Floor

of

Swansea Town Hall

Swansea Town Hall is located at. 95 Lavinia Ave.

In

Toronto’s Bloor West Village.

Milonga runs from 8:00 p.m. – 10:45 p.m.

Admittance: $9.00 per person or $5.00 with an item of clothing as listed above. Tea, and/or coffee as well as a small sweet (usually home-made) and fruit are included in the price.

Hosted by Pam and John

One final but important item, Swansea has advised us of a slight rent increase and whilst WE Tango absorbed last year’s increase we will not be able to do that this year as the cost of fruit has also risen due in part to the Canadian Dollar not being as strong as it was a year ago and at this time of year, most fruit is imported.

Starting in January 2017 WE Tango admittance will rise to $10.00

LIFE IS GOOD

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment