WEmail for Wednesday December 14th 2016

Good Day to you All,

slide_18

 

Just one of the many Christmas carols that I, along with my brothers and my sister sang when we were kids growing up in England so many years ago.

This time of year brings back many fond memories which are triggered by so many every day happenings.

dscn2331We were over at our local Cob’s bread the other day when one of the ladies behind the counter asked me if I wanted any scones but what triggered one of these memories was her pronunciation of the word scones as she actually said “scons” and not scones. I was quite startled as her accent was quite Canadian but I asked her where she was from as I had not heard that pronunciation in years. She responded by telling me that she was born here but had picked up that pronunciation from her Dad who was born in Bradford, Yorkshire, England and asked if I knew where that was. I responded by telling her that I had ridden my bike to Bradford many times in my younger days as Bradford was some seven, (7) miles away from where I was born. Pam was bugging me to stop chatting as there was an older lady behind me waiting to get served; the older lady said it was O.K. as she found our conversation regarding accents and pronunciation quite interesting. The lady in question sounded as if she was from central Europe to me.

brown-muff-storeHowever, what triggered a Christmas memory was the mention of the city of Bradford. My mother loved Christmas and all of the ways it was celebrated in England. My late sister Eileen who was four (4) years my senior and I were taken to many Pantomimes and plays when we were kids at this time of year which were being performed in Bradford and Leeds at Christmas times; our brothers Roy, Colin and Eric had outgrown them by that time. Our mother also took Eileen and I to the large department stores in both Bradford and Leeds to see their Christmas displays but remember that the best displays were at Brown Muffs Co. in Bradford where they had a wonderfully decorated man made in store grotto with strings which you pulled to hear bells or bird calls as you wandered through the small walkways on your way to see Santa. Strangely enough I do not remember the Santa’s much but I do remember the elves. These visits to the large department stores became a tradition as was carol singing after Christmas dinner at our home; all bring back many wonderful memories.

article-2222974-017fd4b000000578-425_306x250I started a small tradition in my immediate family quite a few years ago; I both made and baked Christmas Cakes for all of my brothers and sister but as I am now down to one brother (who lost his wife earlier in the year) I decided not to bake them anymore using that recipe as whilst they will keep for months in a cool place even I cannot see my way clear to eating the balance of four, (4) cakes. Neither of our sons Adrian or Jonathan ever acquired a taste for Christmas cakes so I will have to buy Colin something else; either Quality Street toffees (made in Halifax Yorkshire) as well as some Wensleydale Cheese (also from Yorkshire). I considered Fox’s Biscuits (made in our home town) but a large tin is hard to find here.

WE TANGO is scheduled to operate this coming Wednesday evening

December 14th 2016

As well as

Wednesday December 21st

But will be

CLOSED

Wednesday December 21st 2016

And

Wednesday January 4th 2017

REOPENING

Wednesday January 11th 2017

WE Tango takes place in the Council Chambers, 2nd Floor

of

Swansea Town Hall

Swansea Town Hall is located at. 95 Lavinia Ave.

In

Toronto’s Bloor West Village.

Milonga runs from 8:00 p.m. – 10:45 p.m.

Admittance: $9.00 per person. Tea, and/or coffee as well as a small sweet (usually home-made) and fruit are included in the price.

Hosted by Pam and John

Just a reminder, Swansea has advised us of a slight rent increase starting in January 2017 and whilst WE Tango absorbed last year’s increase we will not be able to do so this year as the cost of fruit has also risen due in part to the Canadian Dollar not being as strong as it was a year ago and at this time of year, most fruit is imported.

Starting in January 2017 WE Tango admittance will rise to $10.00 per person

LIFE IS GOOD

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment